Tags

, ,

540455_3901536299315_974886503_nBy: Lance Mosiea

It’s quite amazing really, when I overwhelmingly take into thought all that has transpired throughout a year that seems to have passed with the speed of light: the highs, the lows, the blessings and the misfortunes.  A constant struggle to remain true and authentic to the self, inner fulfillment and all other battles a youth like myself encounters daily – all of those humble me to the point which I am most grateful for, life.

On the night of November 22nd 2012, upon returning from my sister’s house for a prayer meeting, in preparation for her wedding, my mother, a fellow church congregant, her child and I were involved in a near fatal accident. The driver had literally driven into the passenger’s side of the car with blistering speed to overturn my car numerous times over to the side of the road. It was the most stunningly terrifying experience I have ever encountered in my entire life (as I know it). For the grace of living to hang in the balance just like that was completely beside what I have ever comprehended about accidents and life itself.

So many things come to mind about what the actual cause of the accident was. All of those thoughts seem to further debilitate me and weaken my hopes of healing on all spheres of my being – I choose to astray from them. Not suppress, just astray (for now). Despite the minor injuries sustained, the complete writing off of my first car and sudden slap of reality – one thing remains true and that is life as we know it is not orchestrated by what’s in the physical, but indeed there is a higher power delicately protecting it for us.

The realization, the epiphany in that moment was that it’s not over yet. I didn’t see my entire life flash before me (as your cliché’s would deem it fit to see in such moments), but I had a stunning realization that it’s not over yet. There is still so much to be accomplished, so much to be seen, to be heard, to be experienced, to lose and to gain. The scripture that reads “I have come to give you life and life in abundance” shall forever be a true and shining testament in my life.

