Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Matt Comley: Musician.

What is the Purpose of art, according to you?

To me art is a way of helping other people identify with emotions and feelings. I find personally I can tell people things I’m going through that I could never say in common conversation. Naturally I believe for a human being to truly appreciate a work of art they have to be able to relate completely. Without this, art is meaningless and fails to produce a connection with anyone.

What makes the work you do necessary? How does it inform/change normative behavior, society, ideas, beliefs, etc.?

Why is my music necessary? Well, what would the world be without music? If you can imagine a film with no music it would most probably be awkward and uncomfortable to watch. once again good music contains a large quantity of emotion and information that can completely alter the way people process a situation, whether within a film or in their daily life. Within society there are many different social groups that act and dress completely differently because of the music their group is built around. Without music many of these groups would fail to exist, or change. Just look at the latest fashion trends. ‘Indie’ for instance is one that recently has become far more prevalent due to an increase in the amount if Indie music being produced.

What are the highlights of your career?

So far my music career is just beginning and so much has happened! So far my biggest highlight would probably be being asked to headline at the Stirling Takeover Festival along with other great acts. Another of my best moments was the time I realized my original song had made it to one hundred and sixty eight on the Beat100 Music Chart. It was incredible as it gave me that realization that people really are enjoying my music.

How do you keep yourself informed/inspired?

I find I can’t force inspiration, it just happens. The best thing I can do is spend a lot of time playing as much music as I can. That way at least I’m behind my instrument when inspiration comes. In terms of being informed, I suppose it’s important to understand what genres of music are topping the charts so you can learn from their success, but I try and avoid letting my music be influenced to a certain extent. To me this is one way I can remain true to myself and keep writing original music.

Are there people whom you admire in your line of work? Do you have a mentor?

There are so many people I admire! a few being the likes of Andrew Belle, Fleet Foxes and Daughter! I suppose the internet is my mentor! I’ve learned almost everything about music I know from the internet.

What dreams do you have for yourself?

I hope to get my music out to as many people as I can. I would feel incredibly disappointed if I failed to share my music!

What is the one Truth that you hold onto?

Probably not to judge anyone before you know them. It was one person’s lack of judgment that got me into busking and getting my music heard by the public, so I guess it is my responsibility to do the same!