Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Jessica Rayne: Fashion designer.

What is the purpose of art, according to you?

The Purpose of art is a visual expression. A message- an emotion that is transformed and translated into something tangible and physical.

What makes the work you do necessary? How does it inform/change normative behavior, society, ideas, beliefs, etc.?

After my studies abroad in deciding how to actively approach my future- I felt above all things, it was my duty to feel like I’m contributing to society and the world we live in. I wanted to be realistic about my approach and on what level I could physically and emotionally commit to my input in change and its rippling effect. I’m sure I have every chance of making big change, like anybody else- but for me, I just need to feel like I’m doing something worthwhile and helpful- even if it’s on a smaller scale. It felt less intimidating approaching it from that mind frame.

Fashion is a huge aspect of society and culture, with analysis of current trends- vintage was becoming increasingly popular- taking that into account I decided to recycle original garments, instead of driving slave lab out through factories and mass production (we definitely don’t need More in the world, our sources are depleting) I decided to rework and remodel old vintage and antique pieces. I guess, I almost hope that if people can’t/won’t buy my pieces for whatever personal reasons- that the concept will encourage them to approach their wardrobes in a different way, with customizing and recycling and hopefully create an awareness to what’s physically happening around us and to our planet and environment.

Miss S.A (Melinda Bam) modelling in Rayne

What are the highlights of your career?

The day I started studying at LISOF.
Finishing my Short courses at Central Saint Martins.
Starting my label.

Can you share with the Inspired4Writers readers on the challenges and fears you encountered with regards to conveying your work? Any advice for those aspiring to follow in your trail?

As any artist will understand, creating a piece is always a very personal journey you embark on. My greatest intimidation and insecurity was the outside validation and approval of the public- Will they understand it? Will they like it? I am constantly training myself to remember that with each and every piece, some people will understand it, be moved/motivated/awakened- have some kind of positive emotive response and others may look at it and think it’s useless and pointless….and that’s fine. Some of the people will get it some of the time and others won’t … ever.  If you commit to being vulnerable and creating you have to commit to a quiet confidence in your talent and what’s in your heart and head- don’t do this for people’s approval- do this for You and be clear about that as often as you can.

How do you keep yourself informed/inspired?

I spend a lot of time online, reading blogs, researching artists, photographers, fashion designers, cultural trends. It started as a hobby from a young age and it’s managed to help inspire and filter through to my work.

Rayne featured in Marie Claire magazine

Are there people whom you admire in your line of work? Do you have a mentor?

I am inspired by every single person I encounter. You have to live your life with the curiosity of a young child- willing to absorb anything and everything, see the world with big wide eyes and an open heart. I am always learning and growing from others- in and out of my industry. I take different things from different people.

What dreams do you have for yourself?

I want to carry on doing what I’m doing, collaborate wherever I can- it’s important to do work that I love and that makes me happy and keeps me inspired so that will always be a huge focus for me throughout my life. I want to be a wife and a mother as much as I do an artist. But I will always be an artist, it’s in my blood.

A model in Rayne

What is the one Truth that you hold onto?

Even in the darkest and loneliest hours you need to have faith and trust, whatever it is … it will be okay. God never gives us anything we can’t handle.

