Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Alan Shenton: Musician.

What is the Purpose of art, according to you?

Art is an important, cathartic process whereby I get to express and release some of my own insecurities, therefore confronting them in a way.

What makes the work you do necessary? How does it inform/change normative behavior, society, ideas, beliefs, etc.?

For me, my art is necessary as it provides for me the necessary outlet and experience to enjoy my life and come to terms with some of my experiences. In society, I sincerely hope that it pushes boundaries and challenges people, artists and their ideas.

Alan opening for The Killers in Cape Town.

What are the highlights of your career?

I think being able to do my art, full time, is definitely a highlight of my career in itself. Moments that stand out would be opening for The Killers in Cape Town, touring Japan and performing at the MTV Africa Music Awards.

Can you share with the Inspired4Writers readers on the challenges and fears you encountered with regards to conveying your work? Any advice for those aspiring to follow in your trail?

I always fear misinterpretation, how people see me, how I come across. It’s a terrifying thought that I have but with time I’ve learned to come to terms with. Not everyone will get what I do, but as long as what I do is uncontrived, I know that it’s honest and it’s interpretation starts with a level score.

How do you keep yourself informed/inspired?

It’s quite tough to be uninformed nowadays, information is everywhere. If anything, I look back to the past for inspiration. There’s still so much we can learn from those now past men & women who were challenging music’s boundaries and pushing art forward.

Are there people whom you admire in your line of work? Do you have a mentor?

I don’t have one specific mentor. But I do admire guitarist’s that push the boundaries. That don’t necessarily look at a guitar as though it’s a guitar. They see something else and it’s that approach to their instrument that makes them ground-breaking or revolutionary. Matthew Bellamy, Tom Morello, Jack White, Jimi Hendrix.

What dreams do you have for yourself?

To have a career in music that has longevity for me and value to people all over the world.

What is the one Truth that you hold onto?

Probably that I am bound to make more mistakes, destined to always learn and guaranteed to laugh at myself along the way.

