Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Caitlyn Morris: Drama & Film student.

What is the Purpose of art, according to you?

Communication.

What makes the work you do necessary? How does it inform/change normative behaviour, society, ideas, beliefs, etc.?

I believe that, through my craft, I aim to give voices to the voiceless by allowing the untold stories of people to come alive. It is essential to give attention to the issues which go unaddressed on a daily basis.  I aim to create theatre that encourages an audience to participate on a cerebral level and leave the venue with a chance to reflect on matters that I have addressed within the performance. I believe as humans we are far too accepting of everything that appears to us and we don’t allow ourselves to divulge in the finer details  and complexities of life. We are because of others, but do we really know what these other factors are and how they really affect us? I’d like to give insight into the complexities of life through using theatre as a platform.

What are the highlights of your career?

I am fortunate enough to have been given the opportunity to work in a variety of theatre performances. Having said that, no one opportunity has been a highlight but rather I prefer to consider the opportunity of self-explortation to be the highlight of my career. The collection of experiences that have positively impacted me in many different spheres of my life, including: personally, intellectually and physically. Through the processes of self-exploration I have become holistic.

Can you share with the Inspired4Writers readers on the challenges and fears you encountered with regards to conveying your work? Any advice for those aspiring to follow in your trail?

Caitlyn (front) before a theatre performance.

Due to my unconventional approach to seeing the world, I am fearful that some of the work I produce may be concepts that audiences are unable to identify with, purely because they do not see the world through the same eyes as I do and therefore my biggest challenge occurs when trying to make audiences view things from a new perspective. The advice I would give to young artists is to open your eyes and see, don’t just look, but see. See everything, even if it scares you.

How do you keep yourself informed/inspired?

It’s not hard to keep myself inspired when everything that surrounds me is informative and inspiring in its very own special and unique way.

Are there people whom you admire in your line of work? Do you have a mentor?

There are numerous artists who I consider as great masters of their craft, but that is their craft and this is mine. I have always believed that comparison is the thief of joy. I like to think that the work I create is unmatchable and although I commend other artists for their work, I believe that the best thing is to achieve goals set at your own standard and not that of other artists.

What dreams do you have for yourself?

To make myself and my audiences see the world through new eyes and enrich both mine and their minds with a greatness of knowledge that we never imagined existed.

What is the one Truth that you hold onto?

What is true, really?

