Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Atish Jogi: Photographer.

What is the Purpose of art, according to you?

For me the main purpose of art is to evoke emotion through communication. Each persons ability to interpret art is unique and as a result art is a platform which allows for people to engage with their feeling through visual stimulation.

What makes the work you do necessary? How does it inform/change normative behaviour, society, ideas, beliefs, etc.?

The work I do is necessary as it serves as therapy for me. When I take pictures I feel calm and the thought of me having the capability to capture a moment that will last forever makes it necessary. When society sees pictures that reflect behaviour and society, they are instantly pushed to think. In truth, a picture does speak a thousand words.

What are the highlights of your career?

I still believe I am in the infancy of my photographic career but my highlights have been producing stop animation videos for Red Bull ZA and Feiyue shoes as well as exposure on many blogs.

Can you share with the Inspired4Writers readers on the challenges and fears you encountered with regards to conveying your work? Any advice for those aspiring to follow in your trail?

Photography is very expensive, the equipment is pricey but the reward from getting an amazing shot makes it that much worth it. However, my advice to any aspiring photographer would be to plan how they are going to grow their equipment and make calculated buying decisions, taking into account the style of pictures they take and what they want to continue shooting in the future.

How do you keep yourself informed/inspired?

The internet is my greatest tool: websites such as Flickr and various Tumblr blogs keep me inspired. Reading books and magazines also keep me informed on the latest technology regarding photography.

Are there people whom you admire in your line of work? Do you have a mentor?

I have the most admiration for people I have a direct connection with as I feel I can relate to their work on a personal level. These people include Liam Lynch, Malika Walele, Anthony Bila and Jeff Rikhotso. Check out their Tumblrs!

What dreams do you have for yourself?

I don’t have any dreams, only aspirations that I know I will one day achieve. I want to spread messages about society and people through my work. I will be living a dream when I know I am making a difference in the lives of people through my work. I am also a law student and as a result I aspire to one day have my own law firm that has interests in protecting people who are creatively inclined from the world!

What is the one Truth that you hold onto?

The one truth I hold on to is that hard work and determination really does pay off. If everyone on earth gave 100% into everything they did, we would have far fewer problems. I also believe above anything, that it is of the utmost importance that no matter what you are blessed with, it is imperative to stay humble and appreciate these blessings.

