Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

By: Aaron Jones

Aaron Jones

Constantly on a scale, but it is not about weight. Wait, what is it that I need to do to be great.

Most past and present matriculant’s will agree when I say that no scholar has ever gone without hearing the endless rave about their talent. Whether it be from their parents, friends, educators or family members, we all have been motivated by other people’s ideas of what is possible for our lives. Thus, I stand on the scale, weighing in my decisions according to what I’ve been influenced to think my next step should be and what I desire my next step to be. The importance of this step is unprecedented. This is where my path splits and it is at this point in my life that I will either look back at with regret or jubilation (the latter, hopefully).

My thinking regarding this has always been a visual one. Before me is a shape. Each vertex being an option and I need to place one point within it. Which ever vertices it tends to will show my choice. What are my vertices regarding my future as a prospective matriculant? These are:
• Parents advice
• Financially safe option (which tends to be parents advice)
• My passions (which seem to be the inverse of the aforementioned)
• My bright spark moments (many of which I found to be already, for example: peanut butter, banana, jam and honey sandwiches)

Having considered all of these as separate entities, is it possible that I have got this wrong? You see, no matter where I place my spot in this shape, it still consists of all the options. Who am I to degrade one career step because of its stigma? After all, every path I consider has been trodden on and each having produced several successful people.

So, the next step?
Off the scale and forward to success in a path collaborated by my dreams, fears, parental guidance and perhaps some advice from magazines.

