Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Where did you grow up?

Yvette Mhlauli

I grew up in Alberton, which is on the east of Johannesburg. My parents were the first black people to move into a house in Alberton back in the 90’s. Im originally from KwaZulu Natal but I was groomed and raised in Johannesburg.

What were your dreams as a child?

I remember when I was really young I wanted to be a veterinarian because we had so many pets at home. But after acting in one of the school plays in grade 6, I started to fall in love with being an entertainer. I dreamed that one day I’d grow up and be a famous South African entertainer who is on tv and on radio and people who would run after me and ask me for my autograph! (LOL).

What are you currently doing now (work)? 

I currently host the drive time show at VOW FM (Voice Of Wits) from Monday to Friday called “The Lift Club” and I produce and co-present the hip hop show on Saturdays. I’m also working on a 100% local hip hop compilation mixtape with Trey Songz’ tour DJ, DJ OZ which will be available on June 16th.

How did you get into your line of work (career)? 

I got to work at VOW FM when I signed up for auditions at the station during the Orientation Week at Wits University. I was really happy when I made it as one the new presenters, especially because there were so many talented people who auditioned.

What have been some of your career highlights? 

Wow, I’ve had quite a few!! I’ve gotten to meet and interview people who I grew up idolising and looking up to. People like Siyabonga Ngwekazi, Oskido and Mo Flava

What dreams do you still have for yourself?

When I started on VOW FM last year, my goal was to be the host of the drive time show, and through hard work and dedication I have achieved that. My dream is to work on Metro Fm and start my television career as well. Acting and presenting is another passion I have, and I’m working on getting there soon!

Who are the people who have influenced you or that you admire? 

I really look up to people like Mo Flava, Bonang, Oskido and Siyabonga Ngwekazi. I admire their work and the way they have managed to stay humble and grounded through out their career. I also admire my parents for being behind me and supporting me in whatever I do: they drive me and keep me going.

What is your dream for today’s youth of South Africa? 

My dream for the South African youth is for them to follow their heart and never give up on their dreams. They should never let anybody tell them that “they can’t” because you can do whatever you want to do do if you work hard at it. Also, I’d like to encourage the youth go to school and get an education. My parents always taught me that education is the key to your future, I would like to share that philosophy with the South African youth.

What does June 16 mean to you?

June 16 is about remembering the past, because it is also the future. It represents a turning point for South Africa. As the youth of South Africa we have a bright future filled with opportunities, but we must never forget where we come from, and all the fallen heroes who fought for us to be able to live in freedom.

The one Truth I hold onto is … 

Always respect your mother and father.

 

Twitter (we Follow back): @Inspired4Writer

Like our Facebook page: Inspired4Writers

