Tags

, , , , ,

By: Olivia Comley

Olivia Comley

If you’ve ever wondered if there’s more to life, and nothing seems to satisfy you, that’s because there is more to life. This may seem like a very obvious statement, but I will give a few examples of what Jesus can do for you. I have been a Christian my whole life, but the last 2 years I have encountered Jesus like never before. Life has not been a bed of roses for me: I have been through some extremely challenging and tough times.
I am a worship leader, along with my sister, and in order to support myself during this time I have waitressed relentlessly for the last 2 years, trusting that God will make a way. Loads of people have called me crazy and told me to give up serving God like this, but I have this ‘knowing’, this deep conviction that this is what I was made for
and I will not stop until God says so (by the way, God is now blessing me for my faithfulness and is opening doors for worship like never before).
In March this year, I had an encounter with Jesus that changed my life. It is similar to my sister, Lauren’s, who had an encounter on the same night in a different room. That night I had been at church and asked simply for more of God and to know Him deeper. I was going to bed, nearly dropped off to sleep, when I felt this presence (similar to G-Force on a roller-coaster) ‘drop’ into my room, and over me at the same time. At this point I was under my blankets, unable to move, and honestly feeling quite claustrophobic because in the presence of God our little bodies are quite weak! ūüôā
What is quite interesting is that Jesus showed me a different facet of Himself than He did to Lauren. I was, at this point, quite terrified in the way that God is so holy that you feel inadequate to be in His presence, but also so familiar with Him that you never want to leave. When the ‘glory’ hits you its a strange contrast of wanting to leave the room because He is so overwhelming, but also desperate to stay because you love Him and He is so beautiful beyond words, and you feel so at home with Him.
I felt this intense love radiate over me, mercy and tenderness, that I thought it alone would kill me and break me in half. When people describe the love of God, they use the word ‘Agape’ which is Greek for ‘Love without agenda’. Trust me, it’s exactly¬†what Gods love is. It was so breathtaking that it went beyond the level of human emotion. I wanted to cry because He moved me so deeply with his affection, but at that point I couldn’t move in any way. I knew instantly when I felt that Divine love that it was Jesus with me and I did not fear at all.
I was on the one hand worried that I could have died with the power that was radiating in my room but I’m sure Jesus took that into account! I was basically pinned down with His glory and I was so exhausted from the weekend that I resigned to enjoy His presence and go to bed. The next morning my sister got up and came to see me in my room. She said ‘Did you get any sleep?’
‘No, did you?’
‘No’
And when I saw the black bags under her eyes and she saw mine we both knew what had happened instantly. After that real encounter with Jesus, I felt so overwhelmed and lovesick for about the next 3 days and I was basically daydreaming every minute thinking about Him. Physically, I felt a change and knew in a huge way His love has changed me from the inside out.
I would like to encourage you readers out there to not give up seeking God. God has such huge plans for our generation in that we are going to change this world like never before. Every second gets closer to the day when Jesus returns, and He is pouring out His Spirit on faithful children. Luke 11:9: “So I say to you, ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.” Isn’t it exciting that whatever we ask for will be given if it is in Gods will?!
One thing that has really helped me grow is reading the Word daily so that you are literally breathing it. Remember, it’s a ‘heart’ thing. Jesus is not interesting in lip service because someone else told you to read the Bible. Ask Him to explain and reveal His truth to you as you read, and trust me the Word will become more important to you than actual food.
You feel like something is missing if¬†you do not read the Bible or listen the Word (Mp3 recordings of the Word are a great way of learning as well-¬†Faith comes through hearing and hearing the Word of God). It’s so easy to get religiously bound up in time and schedules, but just remember that the¬†Holy Spirit is ‘person’ (He’s more than that but you get the point) not an idea or a ‘thing’ and is the most amazing, incredible, loving, fun, diverse, humorous, wise, helper and support you could ever have. The Holy Spirit is available to you whenever you want to talk to Him. He will never leave you nor forsake you. If you’re worried, tell Him. If you are thankful, praise Him.
When you realize that, the depth of intimacy God wants to take you into with Him spending time with Jesus becomes your favorite thing to do. I talk to Him throughout the day constantly about everything and I ask Him to show me more of Him. And He is faithful- He will start revealing things you never knew before.
In Proverbs it says ‘a companion of fool suffers harm’, so the converse of this is if you are a companion of Jesus (the King of Glory) and spend time with Him like you would with your friends, so chatting to Him, reading about Him, serving Him, speaking about Him, listening to Him, He will start to rub off on you and people will notice that you have been hanging out with the King of Kings. It’s that¬†easy. What you sow, you reap. If you want to reap a deep relationship with God, start including Him in everything you do. It wont be easy at first because He will start to show you things about you that have to change (‘Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God’ – Matthew 5:8), and in order to grow you have to submit to His way for your life. If you are desperate for more of God and you feel weighed down and burdened, remember that Jesus’ yoke is easy and His burden is light. Ask yourself who is putting that pressure on you? Pray and ask Jesus to help you live FROM grace and not to try to earn your way into His good books. People can fall into the trap of trying so hard but remember God saved you because He wanted to, not because you deserve it. Gods grace is free for you to access as His child and you just have to ask for it – God gives grace to the humble but opposes the proud. You will see a difference in the way you treat others and the way you see yourself through heavens eyes.
An encounter with Jesus is not for special people – it’s for¬†everyone. Just ask for it, simple! Seek Him in everything and also, just because you are seeking God does not mean you are excluded from trials or challenges. Sometimes the hardest trials produce the biggest fruit as you submit under the hand of God, so don’t be surprised if your world feels a bit shaky as you seek Him-¬†keep trusting as if your life depends on it. And don’t let anyone discourage you because you are young. The Lord is using our generation because we are throwing everything aside for His glory. Samuel was a child when God used him to prophesy over Eli, so don’t think you are ever too young. ‘Are you willing?’ Is the question-¬†The Holy Spirit came to earth at Pentecost and believe it or not, He¬†is waiting for you to respond. Are you willing to trust the Lord with everything you have? Are you willing to give up your ideas for His ideas? Because then you will realize what is important in this life-¬†to do what Jesus wants- and nothing else but Him will matter. This is the most satisfying thing – knowing that God loves you beyond your understanding, and realizing that this Love propels you into your purpose and destiny with the most beautiful person and Lord to ever exist.

