Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Where did you grow up?

Mpho Matee

I grew up in 4 places, namely: Katlehong, Tembisa, Kokstad (KZN) and Vosloorus being the place I have stayed the longest at.

What were your dreams as a child?

I grew up wanting to be a Doctor and later on in my teenagehood I wanted to become a Nuclear Physicist but non of the above sufficed.

What are you currently doing now (work)?

I run two companies namely InspiredYOUTH (a broad based personal & business development consultancy) as well as TouchBASE (which is a market research company which uses experiential research methodologies to understand the black township youth). I am also a Professional Speaker who shares African Youth Development insights to companies and organisations.

How did you get into your line of work (career)?

As a result of not being able to finish my studies at Wits University in 2008 due to financial constraints, I started my first business Gladstone Leadership Consulting which was targeted at youth motivational workshops, camps etc.  I started that business without any business experience, knowledge, mentors or start-up funding.  To cut matters short, that business was what I term a ‘successful failure’ and I used the networks that I had created for mentorship and coaching which led to me establishing the two businesses that I now run.

What have been some of your career highlights?

Mpho Matee meeting Former President, Nelson Mandela.

Being chosen to represent South Africa as one of 10 young leaders in a Global Business Opportunities Entrepreneurship program that took part in Jordan in the United Arab Emirates in which I was also awarded the Best International Public Speaker Award for the program.
Having met former President Nelson Mandela as well as Queen Rania of the Heshemite Kingdom of Jordan. 

To be an Executive Director of Youth & Rural Development for the South African BEE Enterprises Forum.

What dreams do you still have for yourself?

To be at the forefront of African Youth Development

Who are the people that have influenced you or that you admire?

Different people at different stages of my development have influenced my outlook on issues whether it be politics, religion, business and all other social issues.  I admire everyday people who have made meaningful contributions not only for their immediate benefit but to the benefit of the community.  I really admire people of good moral intelligence so I can’t necessarily point out one particular individual.

What is your dream for today’s youth of South Africa?

I dream of a South African Youth Segment that is cognizant of their power to make a change in the development of our continent.

What does June 16 mean to you?

To me June 16 means political transformation, the idea of collective action, youth power in practice, self reliance, the will to change a situation, being sick and tired of being sick and tired, that our freedom was not cheap and most importantly, the idea of sharing the privileges we enjoy today because of the selfless struggle.

The one Truth I hold onto is …

I am the blessed & anointed child of the Most High God!

 

Twitter (we Follow back): @Inspired4Writer

Like our Facebook page: Inspired4Writers

