Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Where did you grow up?

Kat Maponyane

I grew up in Meadowlands Zone 1.

What were your dreams as a child?

All I wanted to be growing up was to be like my dad and be a famous soccer player. Nothing else mattered to me.

What are you currently doing now (work)?

I’m currently working for a company called Brownstone as a business sustainabilty analyst. Our main goal is to create jobs for the youth.

How did you get into your line of work (career)?

I ended up in this career by mistake, in all honesty. I used to run a blog called OIJOZI which was focused on trends spotting – fashion,music,lifestyle,etc. It had nothing to do with what I’m doing now, but then again, how many people actually end up in a career they studied for?

What have been some of your career highlights?

Damn thats a tough question. I feel like I still haven’t achieved any notable highlights yet, but on the flipside, going to the snowboarding world cup in Italy and representing SA a few years ago has been a high note.

What dreams do you still have for yourself?

I still want help create jobs and help the youth out of the hole that they currently find themselves in. The biggest goal is to help entrepreneurs become sustainable as that will be the future of this country.

Who are the people that have influenced you or that you admire?

Nelson Mandela, obviously,but that really is a cop out cliche. Hugh Masekela & Abdullah Ibrahim which makes no sense considering I’m not very musicaly inclined.

Kat Maponyane

What is your dream for today’s youth of South Africa?

The youth needs to stop moaning and expecting opportunities to be handed to them on a silver spoon. Those that have the opportunity, let it pass by and those that have the hunger, lack the resources: it’s a catch 22 unfortunately.
Some way some how,they need to make a life for themselves.

What does June 16 mean to you?

June 16 means things that I trully cannot comprehend or put into words. The fight has been fought, the buildings blocks have been built and it’s basically time to show that all that was not in vain.

The one Truth I hold onto is …

Never venture, never gain. It doesnt get simpler than that.

 

Twitter (we Follow back): @Inspired4Writer

Like our Facebook page: Inspired4Writers

