Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Jacob Sibiya

Where did you grow up?


Well, I grew up in a couple of places. But most of my childhood years I spent in Gemsbokspruit, Mpumalanga.
What were your dreams as a child?


Growing up, I had a lot of dreams, purely because as a child, your imagination has no limits. This included becoming a doctor, TV presenter and several other things, some of which made my dad laugh on a couple of occasions. These included breaking my grandmother’s radio, because I’d always want to record myself using it. But I soon realised that such imaginations need to be harnessed especially when we think about the lives we want to live. And this is something my dad always emphasized, because we have no limits.
What are you currently doing now (work)?

Currently, I’m a trainee presenter for a Johannesburg-based radio station, 94.7 Highveld Stereo. As well as a Marketing Executive for an ad agency.
How did you get into your line of work (career)?


I studied Marketing Management at the University of Johannesburg, and during this time, I joined a campus radio station in my first year of studies, which was in 2007.

Jacob Sibiya and Tinie Tempah

What have been some of your career highlights?


Being able to do what I want to do, continues to motivate me to excel further.
I have several career highlights and are not limited to the following:
·         Meeting Morgan Freeman in 2010
·         Going to the United States in 2009 through a Leadership program
·         Being offered the opportunity to work with radio greats.

What dreams do you still have for yourself?


I feel like I haven’t achieved what I want to currently. Growing and excelling within the radio as well as the marketing fraternity. And looking at getting into TV. I’m also looking at going corporate, and establishing my own company, God-willing. Being the best that I can ever be, without losing myself.
Who are the people that have influenced you or that you admire?


My dad plays a major role in my life, and has taken a lot responsibility since my mother passed on. He’s legendary, and I’m really inspired by him. There’s an extensive list of people who also contributed significantly. Musa Kalenga, a strategist and entrepreneur, qualified as a Charted Marketer (SA) in Africa. Anele Mdoda, drive-time presenter on 94.7 Highveld Stereo, who sure has made things possible for herself. And John Mayer who, through his music, has inspired many.
 
What is your dream for today’s youth of South Africa?


For them to realize the importance of empowering themselves and with determination, and  hard work … you can make things happen!

What does June 16 mean to you?


June 16 is all about us, Africans. Always good to remember where we come from and what it took for us to be here.

The one Truth I hold onto is …

With proper direction, only you can make things happen!

 

Twitter (we Follow back): @Inspired4Writer

Like our Facebook page: Inspired4Writers

