Tags

, , , ,

By: Gasela Magasela

Gasela Magasela

 

UPS AND DOWNS, WHAT GOES AROUND COMES AROUND/

LIFE IS NOT FAIR, I THINK/ AS I BLINK

THE MOMENT MY EYES ARE CLOSED, A FLASH OF MEMORIES FLOODS MY SIGHT/

THE MEMORIES OF MY EARLY CHILDHOOD DRAG UP MY CHICKS AND

PRODUCE A SMILE/ I WISH I COULD GO BACK TO WHEN I THOUGHT THERE’S A CAMERA

SOMEWHERE RECORDING AND I’D APPEAR ON TV ONE DAY/ SPOKE IN TOUNGES AND THOUGHT

IT WAS ENGLISH/ EAVESDROPPING ON ADULTS’ CONVERSATIONS AND COULD HEAR ALMOST

NOTHING/ YES, THOSE WERE THE DAYS, FOR ME NOTHING WAS WORRYING…/ EXCEPT

FOR THE FACT THAT I NEVER REALLY LIKED BATHING/ THE THOUGHT TROUBLED MY MIND

EVERYTIME MY MUM CALLED ME IN HUGE EXCLAMATION/ IF I KNEW, I WOULDN’T

HAVE AGREED TO GROW UP/

KEEPING IN TOUCH WITH MY REAL BEING I HAVE LEFT WITH MY CHILDHOOD/

IN MY TEEN YEARS MY HEART BECAME SO BRUISED/

WITH SUCH ZEAL I HAD WAITED FOR THEM, BUT MY “FUN YEARS” I HAD OVERLOOKED/

I NEVER UNDERSTOOD AT THE TIME, NEITHER DO I NOW/

FOR MY FUTURE I DO NOT KNOW/

SCARED TO TAKE A BOW AND SUBMIT TO LIFE’S UNPREDICTABLE SPECS/

RESPONSIBILITY BEING ONE OF THEM, NOT EVEN “SELF” DECISION MAKING ATTRACTS/

MY BEING EAGER TO GROW…/

I SEEK NOT TO GROW, I SEEK NOT TO GROW.

