Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Where did you grow up?

Busi Mtshali performing in Relativity.

I grew up everywhere! I’ve moved countless times to date but home has always been Johannesburg. The first six years of my life I spent ekasi in Diepkloof, Soweto and at the age of seven we moved to Alberton and lived there for about nine years. We then moved to Pretoria where I completed my high school career before moving back to Joburg to further my varsity career.

What were your dreams as a child?

As a child I always dreamt about being in the medical and science field: it was always either microbiology or gynaecology and for a very long time those were the jobs I had planned on making a career out of.

What are you currently doing now (work)?

I’m currently doing my third year in a Bachelor of Dramatic Arts Degree at the University of the Witwatersrand hoping to successfully complete my third year and move on to my Honours next year.

How did you get into your line of work (career)?

I’m not quite in the industry as yet so I can’t really call it my line of work as it not a fully fledged career at the moment but I got my first acting gig through auditioning as everyone else does. I simply followed my passion, took a risk and went for my dream.

What have been some of your career highlights?

Being cast as one of the leading actresses in Mzansi Magics’ Mshika-Shika alongside Zulu Boy and other veterans in this industry. With my Relativity cast mates, we traveled to perform in Prague, Europe. Both these were unforgettable and learning experiences that I am truly grateful for.

What dreams do you still have for yourself?

I just want to make a name for myself within the South African film industry and hopefully move on to making a name for myself abroad and bring an Oscar home.

Who are the people who have influenced you or that you admire?

My mother has been the greatest influence in my life and I admire her first before I admire anyone else. She is my greatest support system, my motivation, my strength. I look up to her so much and pride myself in being her daughter.

What is your dream for today’s youth of South Africa?

My dream for the youth of South Africa is that we redefine for ourselves what it means to be young, what it means to make a change and what it means to be different. I wish that we may stop finding complacency in being mere followers, copy cats of what is deemed ‘cool’ and begin to acknowledge the value that we each have as individuals.

What does June 16 mean to you?

June 16 for me is a day of remembrance, a day where we as the youth should take a moment and think about all the individual voices that came together to make a significant difference. A day where I was liberated before I even came into existence.

The one Truth I hold onto is …

You can’t choose your family but you can certainly choose your friends. Be careful who you choose to associate yourself with, not everyone has your best interest at heart.

 

Twitter (we Follow back): @Inspired4Writer

Like our Facebook page: Inspired4Writers

