Tags

, , , , ,

Lauren Comley

By: Lauren Comley

I pray you will read this and walk away with an increased measure of faith that you can encounter God personally. It is an honour to share some of my story. Just a word of warning beforehand: this is one of those dangerous reads!
 
I am a 21 year old South African living in Scotland. My upbringing was based on solid biblical beliefs and I have always had an understanding of God. In the past few years of severe trials though, my relationship with God really took on a new dimension – I cried out to Him in desperation and I thank God for the hard times everyday of my life. He shows you who He is when you learn to lean on Him.  
 
I moved overseas when I was 18, and started serving in a worship team at church. Worshipping God has changed my life. Worshipping Him means giving God the glory and adoration for who He is. This pleases Him to shower grace and revelation upon your life, because He sees you are humbling yourself before Him. After little time of really pressing in to worship, I began to feel this burning desire for His presence.
 
The more time you spend in His presence, you realise nothing else can fill that connection with Him. It is like comparing purest gold to dross, there is no competition whatsoever when His presence is in your life. More of God’s presence and His grace meant my relationship with God had gone from personal to supernatural. I love spending time with Him now, as if He was a physical person with me all the time. I miss Him when I don’t include Him in my thoughts and when I don’t share about my day. He is always delighted to listen.
 
He says in Proverbs 8:17 “I love those who love me, and those who seek me find me”. It is all because of His grace, this is what happened to me.
                                                                                                                           
I decided to ask God for more of Him in my life – it’s all I wanted and still want. The radical change in my walk was when God showed me Ephesians 2:6 with new understanding:
“And God raised us up with Christ and seated us with Him in the heavenly realms in Christ Jesus.”
 
God showed me that there was no divide anymore between Him and me. I could be in the depths of His presence and His love, as Jesus made me free of sin so I can draw near to God who is Holy. I did not have to be perfect to experience more of Him. His presence changes you. Don’t wait to be “changed” before coming to His feet. He knows you anyway!
He also says in Jeremiah 33v3: ‘Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.’
 
After praying on this and being challenged, I poured my heart out to God for as long as it took and I waited and trusted. The answer was coming, I knew, because He says in Psalm107v9: “He satisfies the thirsty and fills the hungry with good things.”
 
God answered me in December last year. Lying in bed one night, awake, the presence of God hit me like a wall of Holy fire for about 10 minutes, with an intensity of love combined with Holy dread that at some point I felt like I was about to die. The physical effects of this on me was so dramatic that I felt physically ill for a few days after – if I so much as thought of this experience. I have never been the same again, to say the least.
I had asked for more and in seeking Him, He has met me in a radical way, and it hasn’t stopped there. I am here to encourage you that He can reveal Himself to you in new ways, just ask. He may choose to meet you or speak to you in a different way, and at a different time in your life. I am not here to say in what way God will answer you and when. What I am saying is that God is true to His word, and if you raise your expectations and actions to seek Him, you WILL find Him. That is a very exciting thought.
One of my favorite scriptures is Isaiah 41v17, where the Lord promises an answer to those who are thirsty for Him:  “The poor and needy search for water, but there is none; their tongues are parched with thirst. But I the Lord will answer them. I, the God of Israel will not forsake them.”
 
Set your mind on seeking Him ALONE. Worship Him whenever you can, in all things. Ask for a greater “fear of the Lord” in your life. For the fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge. Through this prayer, He will humble you, its practically automatic! So ask if you dare. Seek His face, and you will be rewarded.
The Lord love those who are humble. He “esteems” them, meaning He holds them in high regard. (Isaiah 66v2
“Has not my hand made all these things, and so they came into being?” declares the LORD. “This is the one I esteem: he who is humble and contrite in spirit, and trembles at my word). Set your heart on seeking Him and becoming humble. It is a continuous journey for all of us, and we must keep pressing in.
 
Thank you for taking the time to read this. I pray blessings on you and your adventure with Jesus: He has more for you! Don’t settle for anything less than receiving His promises for your life. Stand on the Word of God. 
Ask and you will receive.

