Tags

, , ,

By: Noni Silomo

Noni Silomo

If you ask me how I got here,
I would tell you that I don’t know,
I would tell you that it stole into my life like a phantom, undetected.

It didn’t happen in black and white,
It didn’t happen in a flash,
It happened in shades of grey.

If you ask me why I chose this, I would tell you that I didn’t choose this.
Nobody chooses this.
The road to darkness always Has a way of knowing my name.

It didn’t happen in black and white,
It didn’t happen in a flash,
It happened in shades of grey.

If you ask me how I plan on Getting back onto the path, The good old path,
I would tell you that
My capacity for self sabotage is boundless,
Therefore I don’t need a plan.

If you ask me why I’m so stubborn,
why I insist on keeping my feet rooted in this corroded land,
I would tell you that
I Decorated this road
With my tears
And convinced myself that they were diamonds.

It didn’t happen in black and white,
It didn’t happen in a flash,
It happened in shades of grey

And if you ask me if I would turn back,
If I would go look for solid ground,
I would ask you
“would you leave your diamonds behind?”

