Tags

, , ,

Robyn Irwin

I think that the biggest problem faced by teenagers in today’s day and age and society, is social status. I mean think about it when you meet somebody for the first time, you are immediately asked “so what do you do for a living?”. Now, what does this say about people, about life; about humanity? It tells us that status is by far one of the most important things in society today. Not only is there pressure from peers and parents to succeed; but also the pressures and hardships we put on ourselves to BE somebody: to become a certain somebody to actually ACHIEVE and be noticed. I do agree that social status not that important; yet people try so hard to create an image for themselves of living a “perfect life” when in actual fact that is the last thing that should be on our “achievement lists”. I agree with the fact that it is good to have a healthy reputation and good credits towards your name But it certainly is not our biggest concern. In many of my piers, I see that social status means a lot to them; but the way I see it is that one should achieve things for themselves not for other people, because that’s when things start to go wrong. I believe that if you want to do something, you do it to prove to yourself that you are capable of achieving that goal for me. Myself and I and not for the attention of other people or for popularity of ones social status. This is why I say that social status is such a problem nowadays and I see it clearly in society and in the social hierarchy people want to be seen as glamorous, beautiful, successful and just plain phenomenal. The question “who are we living for?” Appears in my head. I will wrap up by saying that people of today must do things for their own personal benefit instead of “gaining” respect/ status in the social society.

