Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Where did you grow up?

Masego Maponyane at House of Ole – SA Fashion Week 2012 (Spring/Summer)

I grew up in the South of Johannesburg for the first 16 years of my life, starting off in Protea North, and then moved to Naturena. From there my family moved to Pretoria, where I have lived until leaving the family nest at the beginning of this year.

What were your dreams as a child?

As child I was passionate about playing sport and design, so I always wanted to either be a professional sportsman of some sort, I think my first choice was soccer, or an architect. But my parents always pointed out how I would never stopped talking and managed to get myself out of situations through constructed arguments, and suggested that I become a lawyer; so naturally that was a thought for a while. However I soon realised that it wasn’t what I wanted to pursue. My one passion has always been speaking to, meeting, learning about and helping people; so any career that could bring these elements together was very attractive to me.

What are you currently doing now (work)?

Currently I am a Model, TV Presenter, Commentator, Actor, Voice Over Artist and Business Entrepreneur.

How did you get into your line of work (career)?

I got into my line of work by writing down a set of goals in relation to what I thought I could possibly be good at and enjoy. After doing this, TV presenting looked like a great option for me, so I went for auditions wherever I could until I got the thumbs up three years ago on SuperSport. After securing that everything else just started falling into place. Things like modelling were by pure chance.

Oscar Pistorius (Best Dressed Man) and Masego Maponyane (Second Best Dressed Man) at the GQ Best Dressed Man Awards 2011.

What have been some of your career highlights?

I have been very fortunate to have experienced quite a number of highlights in my career, in fact I think I should point out that I have just grown to really love my jobs so much that being involved in them and having those opportunities are like my highlights. But if I have to isolate a few things I would have to say: The first time my parents told me they were proud of me for what I’m doing, having the great support of my friends that keep me going, being the youngest nominee and being chosen GQ’s second best dressed man in the country (2011), corresponding with CNN ‘Inside Africa’ on their episode on Johannesburg and guest speaking at a Nokia Executives conference.

What dreams do you still have for yourself?

There are far too many to catalogue in a sentence. My dreams are not structured and continue to transform. However the main goal is to be in a position to make a world impact without ever compromising who I really am.

Who are the people who have influenced you or that you admire?

That would have to be my parents, they were never quite conventional in their influence, as it was mostly if not all indirect, but they have no doubt been the creators of the product that I have become.

What is your dream for today’s youth of South Africa?

My dream is for South Africa’s youth to realise that there is no such thing as impossible; it just takes longer than planned. Our generation is this country’s last hope, in my opinion, and we all need to seriously look at ourselves in the mirror and start thinking of the best way that we can be apart of the change for the betterment of our contry – It isn’t too late.

What does June 16 mean to you?

To me June 16 is a strong representation of the big challenges that our oppressed youth went through in order to break free from what they believed were unjust constraints placed upon them. Most importantly however June 16 highlights the incredible force that can produced when the youth comes together and stands up for what they feel is a right, honest and just cause. This young exuberance is exactly what we need to utilise in order to all put our heads together and derive the best out of South Africa and its people, for our people.

10.   The one Truth I hold onto is …

That if you don’t believe in yourself then you cannot expect anyone else to.

 

Twitter (we Follow back): @Inspired4Writer

Like our Facebook page: Inspired4Writers

